Favorite books through out my life.

I have a vivid memory at the age of 8, of being stuck in the library. My mother was on one of those dreaded parent teacher conferences. You know the ones. Where you get scolded the moment you get home for “not paying attention in class,”…but I was! I just couldn’t see the chalkboard (but that is another true story, one for another time).

I stood in the library perusing the shelves, I don’t know what made me pick it out. It could have been recommended to me, or perhaps I found them on my own. The Bobsey Twins became the first books that I read from cover to cover, book after book. They became my first real series.

The second book I recall loving as a child, was “the Witch Family.” About an old grumpy witch who was so bad, she was forced to live on a glass hill and could only come down on Halloween. I loved that book. I must have checked it out of the library a hundred times.

Time passed, I got older. My tastes changed. I was fifteen when I picked up the book, “Dragonsinger,” By Anne McCaffrey. I fell in love with her world, with her vision, with her story telling ability. I have every one of her books. Some in hardback, some in paper and yes, some in kindle.

That brings us to DragonLance. I discovered this while I was living with my son’s father, he who shall not be named, (couldn’t resist). I lived in this book, I loved the story lines, how sweet Caramon was (when he wasn’t bashing out someone’s brains, ) how much he loved the bar maid. How evil was Raistlin? To this day, I wonder. Did Caramon save him from being tortured endlessly by the Queen of Darkness, or is he now still being tortured? (Questions, questions, questions).

I’ve read several dozen books since then.. Elizabeth moon’s “the Speed of Dark,”, A hundred Grace Living Stone hill books, author’s to many to mention, and all this brings me to.. Rowling, you know the one. J.K, and her beloved Harry Potter series. I along with millions read her books the day they came out, stayed up till well past midnight, consumed words like some Draven Winterbourn consumed Chocolate treats.

I guess what I’m saying is, I’m a reader. I’m that person. The one who read, J. A. Belfield’s Darkness and Light and cried when the heroine cried, who read Crux by Julie Reece, who gasped and choked back laughter.

I’m that person. The one who falls eyes first into a world and forget to come out, and.. I’m okay with that because I know you’re there to. An anonymous person on the other side of the computer screen and you’re right there reading with me. Aren’t we having fun?

3 thoughts on “Favorite books through out my life.

  1. Oh yes, we are definitely having one. You and me. 😀 Haven’t heard of most the books in there. Loved J.A. Belfield’s Blue moon and Resonance. I totally know what you mean.

Leave a Reply

