Fishing and other thoughts on writing!

I love fishing in the summer. If the day is warm, or even slightly sunny. You’ll often find me on the river bank. Like a chubby white dwarf in Neoprene. Dreaming of dragons and other fun story ideas as I cast away.

There is something peaceful of the simple repetitiveness of fishing. I can stay on the river bank for hours, just fishing/dreaming away.

Img00010
Writing in some ways reminds me of a rushing river. When it’s good it flows downstream in a beautiful bubbling pattern, meandering it’s way down a mysterious trail beckoning me to follow.

Then I hit a setback, (a  snag) and I’m suddenly seven years old again. Stomping my feet, angry at the world because  my fishing pole is way to big for my little hands and I can never find help when I need it.

We hit snags in real life to, not just on torn branches on the opposite bank.

Like when we go to the grocery store and realized we’ve overspent. Hours later, we’re back at home furiously crunching numbers trying to figure out how to balance our checkbook/bank card and worse, how did it get all messed up in the first place?

When I hit snags while writing, I usually have the worst self pity break down ever. (ask my husband, he will agree). I stomp, I shout, I cry, I get frustrated, irritated, opinionated and more. All because i’ve struck a wall i’ve never seen before. One that looks impenetrable and i’m unable to break through it, or can I?

Sometimes it takes research. Sometimes, a little more applications or just looking at my problem in a different light.

If your facing your wall today, your snag and desperately pulling on that line trying to come up with your solution, then take a step back.. and breath. I might be there in that same spot, breathing deep with you.

I firmly believe there is a solution to every problem but it might take a while for us to figure it out. Tomorrow or the next day your solution might come to you. Perhaps, it will take a few more days or a month, but if you believe and keep trying, you’ll get there.

We both will.

 

8 thoughts on “Fishing and other thoughts on writing!

  1. At last someone who understands that fishing is not always catching! Yes to spend hours even days standing, walking and casting across quietly rolling water psychotherapy at its finest. I agree writing is simular. Sometimes i feel a gentle tug of a thought and i try and bring it to the surface only to loose it to an aging mind that just doesn’t seem to hold onto thoughts like it used to. But as in fishing one must just wait for the next opportunity to ‘land’ the big one!

  2. Wise words. I’m a big believer in the stay calm and breath philosophy. Often hard to do, but if you can slow the world down and give yourself a little space to think the answer invariably comes.

Leave a Reply

