Leap of Faith

Leap of faith.

Writing is a leap of faith. From the very act of placing pen to paper or fingers to the keyboard a writer takes a leap of faith. Assuming before you start that you will have that magical beginning, middle and end. You jump into that beyond. Leaping I find, means so many different things to different people.

To a writer, leaping often means becoming published, or completing a story. To others, it might mean cleaning out that closet or looking for a new job.

Leaping into that unknown, into the fire is scary. The road twists and turns and the bugbears are huge but if you allow it. If you go into the world with your eyes wide open you can find that the path is not as scary as you thought.  Often we allow the world to scare us away from what we want to do.

Have you taken a leap of faith lately? If so, with what? Did you learn a new language, get a new job, take a new jogging path? How did it work out for you?

7 thoughts on “Leap of Faith

  1. Living life is a leap of faith. 😉 I am without a job (looking diligently for one), but while out of work, I’m filling my time with editing my novel and writing the second in the series because I’m going to get this trilogy published…the first one this year. I have to. I’ve been dawdling too long. I’m taking the leap of faith. So scary but exhilarating at the same time.

  2. I’ve been querying agents and publishers I’m only mildly interested in, hoping for some feedback before sending to places I’m really interested it. Now I need to slap myself into being more confident and work from the top to the bottom of my list, rather than the bottom to the top.

    1. My first inclination is to go for the bottom and work my way up. Then I recall you telling me once.(Between Land and Sea).. that I could have sold it.

      I gave it a lot of thought and I think you were right. Your instincts are usually on spot Jenn, go for the top. Just remember if you don’t give them the chance they can’t say yes!

      1. Yeah, that’s what I’m trying to tell myself. But you know what? I’ve learned a whole lot this last year of querying. I’ve written two more novels, and then went back and was able to see the problems with the first. So now I am going out there more confident, with a better product.

Leave a Reply

