Portals

Recently, I got the opportunity to interview the Authors in the upcoming book, Portals.

I had one basic question that I was burning to have answers on.  What is your favorite movie with a portal in it?

See below for their answers and a link to this exciting new

Michael Siciliano

The 1994 movie Stargate, starring Kurt Russll and James Spader. I really liked the jumpgate in Babylon 5, but Stargate was epic.

 Havva Murat

Coraline – it’s creepy as hell but so enticing. Who wouldn’t want to crawl through a little door and into a world where your parents give you everything you want? The button-eyes freaked me out

Echo Shea
It’s been a long time since I watched it but I guess Monsters, Inc. I remember it made me laugh and I like the premise of monsters lurking in the closet.

                Anna Simpson
Labyrinth (1986) is one of my favorite movies. It has more than portals; it is full of twists, turns, hidden doors and slides to oubliettes. So off the wall, and so wild, this little gem has no special effects and the majority of the cast are Muppets.

David Bowie singing with is fountain of hair and wild look in his eye caught me and had me wishing he had fallen for me instead. My bad boy issues probably began that very moment. I’ve never been the same since—in fact, I’m better for it. The movie is entertaining, and got my heart pumping and toe tapping.

Christy Thomas
Timeline. Just the idea of traveling through time intrigues me.
I’m sure not everything is accurate in all of the history books. Someone’s job should be to go back in time, and interview people that lived in the past, and verify all facts. I volunteer.

Laurie Treacy
This is a simple answer for me, especially since I just re-watched it a few weeks ago. Howl’s Moving Castle. I adore both the book (by Diana Wynne Jones) and the movie created by director Hayao Miyazaki (Studio Ghibli). The movie features Howl’s mobile castle with this fantastic door which has a dial with four different colors. When Sophie turns the dial to one particular color and opens the door, they’re in a totally different locale. I loved that idea of just twisting a dial and changing your location. Sophie is cursed by a witch, turned into an old lady, and flees her home. She comes upon the wizard Howl’s castle in the hills and enters, seeking shelter. There’s mystery, magic and love, in one magnificent animated film.

Genre: Fantasy Anthology (mixed sub genres)
Publisher: Roane Publishing
Release Date: June 5, 2014
Keywords: Fantasy, Epic Fantasy, Sword and Sorcery, Urban Fantasy, Steampunk, Short Stories, Picture Prompt

Description: No matter what world you call home, or what your station in life, there are just some paths that weren’t meant to be tread.

Maronda’s Quest by Christy Thomas

Mexmur, the Huntress by Anna Simpson

Entrance of Lost Souls by Echo Shea

Where Once were Hearts by Havva Murat

Ordinary World by Laurie Treacy

The Lunatic Queen by Michael Siciliano

 

Group Giveaway: $10 Amazon Gift Card & paperback copy of Portals

 Don’t forget a Rafflecopter giveaway!

 If you’d like to help spread the word about Portals. Click Blog Tour button below!

PortalsTourButton

Purchase Links: Coming soon!

9 thoughts on “Portals

Leave a Reply

