Strange

The other day I was told my writing style was strange…
And it threw me for a loop, because honestly I didn’t know what to make of this. I’m often told I’m funny, my plots are simple, my characters have heart, but strange? I wear my baseball hats on forward, I’m a jeans and sweatshirt type of girl and I drink my coffee before 8 am like everyone else in the world.

Sure there are dragon changer stories on my hard drive, but there are also a few mermaid stories, a bakery with Pixies set loose in them. I have a cursed enchantress, a werewolf desperately in need of a cure, a couple of undead witches, a woman who used to be able to call birds. You know, the usual plot characters. There is even a contemporary hidden away.

The thing is.. I love pulling different characters out of a hat and seeing what story they have to tell. Each character is different, diverse. My characters are crazy, happy, sad, lonely, irritating or peaceful “people” so what if some of them can do spells, I’m having fun writing and I’ve heard a few giggles from people who are reading and isn’t that really what counts?

83d0c-purrfectmating_cover2

Sheryl Winters lives in a small town in Alaska. She grew up in the midst of old country story tellers, so you might say writing comes naturally to her. She is known for writing paranormal romances with a twist. Her writing inspiration often comes from the great outdoors of Alaska and she enfolds bits of it into her stories. For further inspiration, she has raised a menagerie of cats and dogs to the aged spirits they have become.

Her debut novel Purr-fect Mating can be found at Amazon.com

6 thoughts on “Strange

  1. Well, I don’t think Purr-fect Mating is “that” strange. It’s actually delightful. My 91-year-old mother even enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

