Nanowrimo

NANOWRIMO

It’s not for the feint hearted.
I’ve won three out of four years.
It was hard.
It was easy.
It was terrifying.

At it’s best, it’s a joyride. It’s flying across uncharted territory on dragon wings.. and at it’s worst, it’s an Ogre. A creature who rises out of the very walls, throwing boulders at my carefully created outline, tearing down the walls I created word by word.

And yet I finished.

But it wasn’t easy. Every year there is this point where nothing gels. Where I can’t figure out where my plot dropped off to and .. worse. I hate all my characters.  Those are the days when I have to re-read my story. When I have to create stuff out of nowhere.Sometimes it takes re-reading what I wrote. Sometimes, just talking it out.. but it always happens.

My story appears.Magic happens.

My story takes off on it’s own. I’ll truly have no clue what my characters were going to do or even why they did what they did.

So, if your thinking this task is impossible, or to terrifying a commitment to consider.. you might be right.

But, what if…

What if in the dreariest part of winter, you decided to clear off a month to do something you love.

One single month.

A month where you spend time doing something for yourself. One month writing the story you’ve kept at the back of your mind. One month thinking outside of the box. One month thinking of yourself.

Consider NANOWRIMO.

One month,

One person committed to something bigger than themselves.

One novel that craves to be set free.

One word at time.

What do you have to lose?

http://nanowrimo.org/

One thought on “Nanowrimo

Leave a Reply

