Skydreamer Sneak Peek Wednesday, April 29th

Ready for another sneak peek of Skydreamer? How about excerpt #3

*  *  *  *

He wasn’t kidding. He really can’t cook.

Isla and I grimace our way through burnt steak and eggs. I’m so used to Esmay burning my meals, I have no problem swallowing it, but Adania is another matter. She folds her arms and refuses to eat what is served. By the time breakfast is over, I decide never to let him cook again.

Draven offers seconds and thirds, which we politely refuse. He polishes off the remains, inhaling his food the way Isla does ice water, his leg jammed tight against mine. “Grab your things. It’s time to find the shops,” Draven says as we pile our dishes into the sink. He flaps a dismissive hand at us. “Don’t worry about those. The cleaning people will be here soon. They’ll take care of them.”

I draw on the tight cloth jacket I’ve been using for the last three years, poking my fingers through the hole in my pocket for fun, while Isla wrestles Adania’s shoes onto her.

Draven surprises us by picking Adania up and hoisting her onto his shoulders.

“Lookie, Jaden, Isla!” she squeals, her excited giggle ringing through the hallway. “I’m taller than you!”

Isla stops at her apartment to get her hand bag and Draven pulls three glowing light green orbs out of one of his pocket. “Preset and ready to go, so you three won’t get lost on your way home.” He gives an apologetic shrug. “I’m almost out, or we’d use them to get there, too.”

The Orbs are so malleable, I have to resist the urge to sink my fingers into them. I slide them into my good pocket next to the gold before carefully pulling my fingers out, so I won’t touch them too much.
Draven lowers Adania to the floor and fiddles with the lock as Isla catches up with us. “Jaden, do you still have that coin purse I gave you?”

I pull the heavy leather pouch out of my pocket and hold it out for him.

“Good. You’ll need it today.”

*  *  *  *

For fire talent, Jaden Zarie, life is far from a fairy tale. Blisters from any contact with water, check. Sleeping in a shed behind your greedy Uncle’s house, check. Ex-boyfriend scouting the bar where you work for one-night stands every night, double check.

When Jaden sets off to secure a new life with her two sisters, winning a contest with a huge pile of gold on the line seems like a quick fix. Getting hitched to Draven Winterbourne, King of the Dragon-changers, and finding true love was beyond anything she could have hoped for.

But a friend turned enemy threatens to take it all away. When Jaden is thrust into an alternate universe and separated from her new husband and her sisters, she must summon up the courage to start over, alone, knowing she may never see any of them again.

Print
Createspace (Best Option)
Amazon

Digital (eBook)
Amazon
Amazon UK
Barnes and Noble
Smashwords
Bookstrand
All Romance eBooks
Kobo

 

Leave a Reply

