It wasn’t my Star Wars

luke skywalker

It wasn’t my Star Wars.

I didn’t feel the emotions of the rest of the crowd.

Halfway through, I found myself thinking of a book I’m writing.

I was bored.

I know, I know. You’re going to tell me about a small robot with half the charm of R2D2, and you’re going to tell me how the lead character was a girl. That interracial leads don’t happen (I saw Lethal Weapon people!)

And I just have to say. I left the theatre with no feeling for that movie at all.

In contrast, I walked into a theatre when I was a child. I read every word on the screen as it scrolled down. I remember thinking that it was a brilliant eye-catching way to capture my attention. Deep thoughts for a kid who still played with Barbie dolls.

I walked out of that theatre with an entirely new concept of storytelling. I believed the characters. Luke wasn’t just a whiny boy; he was a kid who looked sad while everyone else talked at a table because he missed his aunt and uncle. He was a kid who was scared and didn’t want to leave home. He did it anyway, not for a princess but for an old man who was a friend.

I walked out of that theatre knowing I’d watched the greatest movie ever. (and I had, I was only eleven.)

So when I went to see, well that movie.

I was excited.

I was happy.

It was my star wars.

When I walked out of that theatre, sadness tugged at my heart.

It wasn’t wasn’t my Star Wars.

When a director or a writer places a mark on a movie. His thoughts do more than go into the page, more than direct the movie, they direct the theme of the movie.

I miss the young George Lucas and despite the flaws of the last three Star Wars movies, I will always be grateful for the first three. For his thought process, his youthful excitement and his love of the unknown went into it.

So thank you, George Lucas, thank you so much for my Star Wars.

 

 

2 thoughts on “It wasn’t my Star Wars

  1. I hear what you’re saying, but I kind of look at it this way. We were kids when the first Star Wars came out. Young. Impressionable. I was a tad older than you but still under 20. These movies blew our minds. Flash forward to the debacles of Episodes I, II, and III. I felt sorry for the kids. They didn’t get the wow. Bad acting, horrible directing. They were train wrecks and the kids knew it. Those movies weren’t Star Wars. They were sad little prequels with hopes for a quick burial.

    I had lost hope. When Hollywood announced a new film, I rolled my eyes. But when the trailers were released, I took notice. There was something different. Something familiar, and I knew I had to see it. I was pleased with the film even though it regurgitated same plotlines. But when I looked around that theater and I saw the faces on those young kids? I saw you and me all those years ago. I realized quickly that my view was tainted. We grew up with the best where filmmakers relied on ingenuity, props and not computer graphics. We were spoiled. Lucas, Spielberg, they’re the greats and it will be difficult for anyone to top them. But as I watched the film, I was happy to see something reminiscent of what I grew up with. It was fresh. Exciting. The kids were excited. Squirming. Clapping. Laughing at BB-8. Just like us at that age, they now have their new heroes to root for. New bots with quirky personalities. For us, you’re right. They don’t have a new Luke and Leia and we will no longer have Hans Solo, but we have something hopeful. A film our young kids will remember and want to watch over and over again. The magic of Star Wars continues in a good way for this young generation, and that, to me, is a wonderful thing. 🙂

    1. I think we had two different theaters. There weren’t excited throngs at mine, just the usual assortment of Sunday matinee. Hardly any children and hardly any people there. I’m glad that so many liked this movie.

Leave a Reply

